The Sunshine Award

the sunshine award

I have been given an award by Cardamone5. She’s by far my most active reader and commentator and I really appreciate her take on things. I recommend you visit her blog, Breaking the Cycle.

She is a keen gardener and fond of flowers, and I have promised her some orchid pictures. Since they don’t fit into my normal posts, I’ve decided to add some to this one.

What is the weirdest food you have ever eaten?

I’ve lived in Namibia for more than a decade, and although Namibia isn’t a very exciting culinary country, we do have some local worms and odds and ends seasonal foods that might not be for everyone. I’m not an adventurous person in terms of food. I’m not the kind of traveler who will spend hours eating crickets and larvae when I go to new and exotic places. But if you live and work in a country for long, there are bound to be incidents where you’re put to the test, so to speak.

It’s one of those scorching hot days in Northern Namibia. The fata morgana is distorting the horizon, and you can see the heat waves radiating from the ground. I drive up to the only shade tree in miles distance. There’s an old man with a small . mobile take-away outlet there.  My guide sitting next to me is suddenly turning incredibly excited, as in bouncing in her seat, clapping her hands kind of excited. “He’s got mice,” she shouts. “He’s got mice! Oh, we got to stop here.”

In a densely populated area where the last antelope was eradicated a generation ago, the people crave proteins, and not the kind they get from the ground nuts and the beans. Meat proteins, in whatever form they come. So whole-grilled mice with tail and itsy-bitsy claws still on, stuck onto a wooden skewer, sold for 50 cent per carcass was like a dream come true for my guide. I don’t know how to express the deep, deep, relief I felt when I realized he only had one left and I managed to convince my guide that she could have it all to herself.

Since I managed to escape the mice, I think the weirdest thing up to date must be dried termites. Lots of weird things about that experience. First of all that I at all succumbed to the peer pressure and gave it a try (I normally make a dedicated effort to hide when things like that are served). Secondly, they tasted just like peanuts. And thirdly, when the bowl was sent around the table for a second helping, I actually, completely voluntarily, grabbed another handful.

What is your biggest accomplishment?

I’m not sure I’ve accomplished much at all. I’m average and mediocre in most aspects of life.

What is your biggest regret?

That I stopped traveling and settled down too soon. I should never have done that. And now I have dogs and cats, and mortgages that make it much more difficult to just pack up and go. People around me keep telling me that I’m a grown-up, and that we’re supposed to settle down, but I don’t know. There are all those tempting experiences hiding behind the next curve, and I want to go there. The restlessness is the curse and side-effect of chronic travel fever.

Tell me about what you consider to be your best attribute.

Oh…

Why do you blog?

I’ve been blogging for almost a decade, actually. And I started because I was losing touch with my mother tongue. Since I had limited opportunities to speak my native language I decided to at least use it in writing, so I established a blog. One thing led to another, and I became completely hooked. This blog that you’re visiting now was established only recently. I deliberately keep it completely separate from my other blogs, since this is a fiction blog and many of my loyal readers would struggle to draw the lines between fact and fiction.  I think they would worry about me, my marriage and my mental well-being if they read my fiction posts. My mother would probably jump on the first plane to Africa to come and save me.

What is your favorite animal?

I got a black cat called Lucky that I found in a bag ready to be dumped on the trash heap. He was a tiny kitten and opened his eyes the same day i found him. He required bottle feeding every three hours with special milk powder to survive. After weeks of feeding and rubbing his stomach to make him pee, we developed a very special bond. I’m involved in large carnivore projects, and I love all the large cats; Lions, leopards and cheetahs. I have some lions that I have followed since they were small cubs. Now they are large males with manes and prides on their own. It’s amazing to have the privilege to watch the changes in nature up close like that.

What is your most-worn item in your closet?

A couple of jeans that I’ve had since forever.

What is you favorite snack?

I’m a chocolate girl.

If you could live anywhere in the world right now, where would it be?

I would go back to Thailand and work as a scuba diving instructor. I loved every minute of it, and I miss it every day.

If you could do anything over what would it be and how would you do it differently?

Yup. Already told you. I would have skipped this whole growing up and settling down thing and still been traveling.

Apparently, I’m now supposed to nominate some blogs for this award. Let me see, let me see, let me see…

1. Bush Baby

2. countingducks

3. An Ordinary Man

4. Jenna Howard

5. Sandra Danby

6. levishedated

Guys, I don’t know how you feel about awards, if you choose to accept it and write a post, then GREAT!  Just remember, there’s no pressure here, see it rather as a recognition and a thumbs up from me.

For those of you that are picking up the glove, here are the rules:

  1. Include the Sunshine Award icon in your post and/or on your blog
  2. Link to the blogger who nominated you
  3. Answer 10 questions about yourself
  4. Nominate 10 other bloggers to receive the award
  5. Link to your nominees and let them know you nominated them
  6. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer

…and the QUESTIONS:

  1. What is the weirdest food you have ever eaten?
  2. What is your biggest accomplishment?
  3. What is your biggest regret?
  4. Tell me about what you consider to be your best attribute.
  5. Why do you blog?
  6. What is your favorite animal?
  7. What is your most-worn item in your closet?
  8. What is you favorite snack?
  9. If you could live anywhere in the world right now, where would it be?
  10. If you could do anything over what would it be and how would you do it differently?

 

12 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

  1. Thank you for the up front kudos. Totally unnecessary, but appreciated.

    You have other blogs…are they in Norwegian? Maybe you don’t want to tell me as you stressed the keeping them separate part.

    I love the orchid pics. So pretty. I don’t suffer from worries about keeping my fiction separate from my blog…I wrote about a pedophile who kidnaps and murders young girls, a subject that would give anyone pause about my own morals/make-up, but to me, it’s just fiction. make-believe, and no reflection on me whatsoever.

    Anyway, nice job.

    Fondly,
    Elizabeth

    1. Well deserved and in order, in my opinion. 🙂 Thank you for the nomination.

      My other blogs are all in Norwegian, and I’ve shut down some of them over the years.

      I did mix and mingle for a long time and things seemed to work OK, but when I got my 15 minutes of blog fame and ended up in the media for short while, everybody that I knew suddenly knew about the blog and they read it ALL as if it was accurate descriptions of my life experiences, with no room for fiction at all. And when I pointed out that a lot of it is fiction, they just said that my fiction would OF COURSE be inspired by real life events. So if I wrote something dark or blue, it would HAVE TO be a reflection of my state of mind. The fiction part was seen as a way for me to vent out what was actually happening inside of me. I’m telling you, I got a lot of offers of shoulders to cry on and a lot of supportive e-mails and SMSs. I did a couple of attempts, but when they generated the same kind of affect again and again, I just skipped it, altogether. *Sigh*

      1. Darn! In Norwegian and shut down (sorry, I know that’s not your point, but, you know me, I am curious!) Also, fifteen minutes of fame? That’s big, even if it resulted in undesired attention. Shows you’ve got the stuff to get published, but we already knew that, so I shouldn’t be surprised. Sorry for the unsolicited attention and misreads. That’s what separates GREAT authors from others…our ability to distinguish fiction from real life (ha, ha, ha!)

        1. I keep thinking that I must have done something wrong. Maybe I just didn’t go far enough…you were writing about…er…checking…a pedophile killing small girls, that’s pretty far out, considering where I live and how my neighborhood looks, so perhaps I should have just gone ALL the way. 😉 There’s a risk that they would have me submitted, of course…since I had clearly lost it.

          Despite that I always got good grades when we were writing stories in school, I don’t think my friends and family quite understand the way my imagination works. And I don’t think that any of them consider me to have a vivid imagination. I guess I just come across as too cynical and pragmatic, somehow. So they find it hard to believe that I would be able to make anything up. Except for my blog friends, obviously. They know. Such a relief… 😉

          1. It is a relief because you have no worries about how you appear or past behavior. You can be you and readers have no preconceived notions about what to expect so that openness enables you to be whoever you want to be. At least, that’s what I’ve found in my lengthy (6 months) time blogging 🙂

    1. LOL! OK, I admit your writing is somewhat concerning and heart-breaking at times. Especially for someone who has been cheated on and have suffered with the bruises and pain, and the sense of betrayal, but I think it’s an important discussion and that we benefit from trying to see the different sides and perspectives. So if not sunny, then at least important, and well worthy of a bit of attention.

  2. And finally I get around to accepting the award and answering your amazing questions, Cay – yay!
    In case you don’t remember me – we shared a cabin for NaNoWriMo a couple of years ago and then we kept in touch for a while on these blogs and then … well anyway, you can find my Sunshine Award at https://levishedated.wordpress.com/2016/07/26/sunshine-award/ if you fancy taking a look-see.
    Hope you’re having a beautiful day and that the sun is shining in your heart. 🙂
    Kindness – Robert.

      1. I know it, tried it and found it rather impersonal. I’d kind of like to stick with my own blog really. I can post what I like and people come and read it and make nice comments – it’s lovely!
        Did you like my answers to your questions? 🙂
        Kindness – Robert.

Leave a Reply

