Weekly photo challenge: Streetlife

Yaowarat Road, Bangkok

I drove down Yaowarat Road in Bangkok a couple of days late. I meant to be here during the Chinese New Year celebration, but a scuba diving adventure kept me in the deep blue Andaman sea longer than I initially planned.

Instead of meeting a Chinatown buzzing with life, I met streets and people in a slumbering hangover daze from a helluva party that I just missed. I walked on empty pavements, amazed of the surprising quietness of the place. I struggled to decide which street restaurant to choose, since they were all empty. And we all know that’s a bad sign.

I went to bed thinking the place felt almost eerie.

But when I woke up the next morning, it was business as usual. I remember sighing of relief when the exhausting, buzzing scene hit me slap-bang in the face the moment I stepped out on the pavement.

One thought on “Weekly photo challenge: Streetlife

Leave a Reply

